Four years running… looking back at day one

I have been terrible about adding new blog posts, but after the last two weekend of great runs, I had to add one.

Finishing the Rock n Roll Chicago and The San Francisco Marathon Progressive 5k in the last two weekend really made me reflect on how far I had come.  So this is my quick blog about how the running madness started.

About 4 years ago I started a Boot Camp that changed my lifestyle… and ultimately I became a runner.  Initially I started this Booter to get fit for my best friend’s wedding where I served as the Maid of Honor.

Below is the email I sent to my friends after my first day of class… please note the week before I started the instructor asked me to run a mile so when I ran the mile at the end of class we could see how much I had improved… When I attempted this initial mile, I couldn’t even run the length of one song on my iPad before being out of breath (and stopping).

Thanks for letting me share. 🙂

Hi Friends…

So I have had many questions this morning about my Boot Camp that I started this morning.  It was good.  When I woke up at 4:30 this morning, I was definitely thinking I was a little CRAZY.  Also, since I really didn’t know what to expect this morning I was also nervous.

I arrived 15 minutes before the 5:30am scheduled start time to talk with the main guy in the morning to sign the liability forms and “sign up.”  He gave me a Boot Camp “Survival Guide” which includes a list of things I should and shouldn’t be eating.  It also has a food journal which he checks DAILY.  Apparently if he takes your journal, it means you were “bad” and you have to stay after to do some additional exercises.  Today, they did an extra set of sit-ups.

As for the actual class, we are required to bring a thick exercise mat, set of 5lbs weights, and a jump rope.  We started out with some “boxer shuffles” to get us moving, and then did some punching moves.  I am SO uncoordinated!

Then some stretches, then on to some push-up things and sit-up.  they we in sets of 15.  the push-ups were a little different.  We would start standing, hop down, hop back up; that is a 4 count. Then we hopped down, did one push up, hoped back up; that was a 6 count.  Then the 8 count was the same, but with 2 push ups.  They we did another variety of push-up. Oh, and we did jumping jacks… I don’t remember jumping jacks being to tiring.

After this portion, we went on a run.  Yeah, I can’t run.  My poor body is just not used to running… I’m a Swimmer… no pressure on my joints.

By the time I made it back, we separated into 4 groups at stations.  First I was at the station that did squats and lunges, then rotated to the triceps/bicep station, then to the sprint work training (at this point I was feeling a bit nauseous, and needed a little break.), and finally we went to the last station, which was another set of arm training.  When we were done, we stretched and that was it.

So today and tomorrow are in the parking lot of the Tustin Washington Mutual… yeah… straight up parking lot.  Then on Wednesday we are at an elementary school. And from what I understand, there are hills involved.  My fellow boot campers let me know that I would LOVE it! Great!! Then Friday it’s a different park.

So I still need to do my fitness assessment and get measured officially.  He didn’t want to make me do the assessment after my first day, so I will get assessed another day.

So all in all, I think this will be prefect.  It’s not too crazy, but structured enough where I will get in shape for Maui.

Okay… I hope that makes sense.  I definitely feel as though I could have gone home to go to bed instead of work, but whatever 🙂

2 thoughts on “Four years running… looking back at day one

  1. What a great post! I’ve been running for less than a year and still can’t believe that I’ve enjoyed running as much as a have. The way the body can go from not even running for 5 minutes without feeling like you want to die to running 10+ miles in a relatively short period of time is just amazing. It seems like sometimes it’s easy to get caught up in looking ahead to the next race, but looking back at how far you’ve come is always helpful too! I wonder if the person who taught the boot camp knows he inspired you to become a runner!

    • Thank you Christine. I am glad you enjoyed the post. And Congrats to you on your running accomplishments! I think I will send a note to one of the Booter instructors from that original camp and say thank you today. 🙂 Happy Running!

Leave a Reply

