Rockin’ the San Jose Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon

So, I initially started this blog to keep me in check while I was training for the San Jose Rock n Roll Marathon.  Well… I did it.  A few weeks ago on October 2nd, I ran (and walked) my 13.1 miles.

I had been derailed a tad in September from the training schedule due to… well… life. In a nutshell, I had to find and start a new job and I had a friend pass away unexpectedly.

Anywho… the race… it was pretty awesome! I was shooting for under 3 hours (and really to beat my sister and her friend).  Unfortunately, I ended up finishing a little over 3 hours (3:05).  I am a little disappointed, but not really. Overall, I am really happy with my performance.

Let’s just put it this way… this is the farthest I have ever run (walked)!  It was after the 10k mark where I realized my accomplishment (but had foolishly forgot that I had done a pretty good job run walking Bay to Breakers in 2009, a 12k).  I was still on pace to finish under 3 hours by the 10k mark.

But by the 10 or 11 mile marker, my right leg was starting to bug me.  I didn’t realize what it was until after, but it was my IT band.  I was tough to move and though running on it didn’t hurt as much once i got going, I didn’t want to do any major damage and decided to just walk for the majority of the last 2-3 miles.

The last mile was really emotional.  I knew I was really close to the end, but my leg was not cooperating.  I think it was the LAST turn til the finish line there were many other runners with their medals cheering us on.  I kept hearing, “Just around the corner.” “You are almost there” “You can do it”… and lots of cheering and clapping.  As I crossed the finish line, I was overwhelmed with A LOT of emotion. I admit, I shed a tear or two.  I couldn’t help it. I was proud of myself for finishing.  Even though I didn’t make my goal time, I was happy.

Next ups… Rock n Roll Vegas!

2 thoughts on “Rockin’ the San Jose Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon

  1. Great job Ann. It’s still a PR and you accomplished what you set out to do, which was to run your first half marathon. Well… now its onto the next one =)

  2. Pingback: Running the Rock n Roll Vegas… The Sweet, The Savory, and The Bitter | Eating Toward the Finish Line

Leave a Reply

