ad hoc – Fried Chicken Night

For those that know me, they know I am in bed at 9:30-10pm almost every night.  I do make exceptions often.  On a “school night” exceptions are less common.  But… when ad hoc comes knocking… you open the door!

Ad hoc is one of Chef Thomas Keller’s creations.  He is most famously known for The French Laundry.  This place has a 10-course tasting menu that will set you back $270… that does NOT include alcohol!

Anywho… every other Monday night, it’s Fried Chicken Night at ad hoc.  Our reservation was at 9pm.  These reservations are hard to come by and the restaurant is actually about an hour and a half drive from SF.  (and requires one to cross bridges).  This is a lot to as of a girl who goes to bed at 10pm and hasn’t driven over any bridges since moving here 2 years ago.

The menu is a 4-course, pre-fixe, family style experience.  The cost for dinner is $52.  I added the $39 wine pairing. I don’t know how to pair wines (and beer for the cheese course) so I might as well let the experts do it.  What totally swayed me to the “yes” for wine column is the stashed birthday hundo (hundred dollar bill I “hide” from myself when my dad so generously hands them over – usually for Christmas, Lunar New Year, & my birthday).

Let’s just say, it was a hundo well spent!  I left incredibly full!  I definitely CANNOT skip my 4-mile training run today… 😉

Here is the actual menu (and photos) from last night, Monday, August 8th:

Salad of Little Gems

heirloom tomatoes, prosciutto
brioche crouton, balsamic dressing
~
Buttermilk Fried Chicken
yukon gold whipped potatoes
grilled romano beans, broccoli rabe
shallot and padron vinaigrette
~
St. George
fig jam, smoked pecans
~
 Rocky Road Sundaes
marshmallows, marcona almonds
Leave a Reply

