Booter… once again!

Okay, so yesterday there was a Groupon deal for Boot Camp near me in Burlingame.  I was contemplating buying and joining all day.  I did a Boot Camp in SoCal about 3 years ago and I LOVED IT.

I am hoping that the boot camp workouts can add to my run schedule and get me stronger, so I can run farther.  Boot Camp was actually what got me into running in the first place.  I remember the very first day of boot camp when we took a “quick jog” around the block I couldn’t keep up.  I walked most of it and thought I would be left behind!  By the end of boot camp I ran my mile in less than 10 minutes (9:59 to be exact) and then ran my first 5k shortly after.

Anyway, after some thought, feedback, and a re-reading of my very last boot camp email to my friends & supporters (essentially my very first fitness blog), I took the plunge.  I bought the deal last night and today I made is uber official by registering for classes!

I start on Monday at 6am!  Here I go!

Update- I decided to add the email I sent to my friends and supporters after the first boot camp was over:

Hello Everyone!!!

I just finished Boot Camp officially!  I think I could shed a tear.  I really am just so happy and proud.  I am just filled with so many emotions this morning.

Since I didn’t start boot camp at the very beginning, I wasn’t quite sure where I was going this morning.  It was the Tustin Lodge and this is the location of orientation.  Anyway, when I got there, we had to go upstairs to this huge room where a couple of the instructors had mats and water bottle set up.  I went straight for the line to be measured.

One of the instructors, Matt (who is actually the head instructor for my 5:30am class) called me over to test out my push-ups.  So the water bottle is for the push-up test.  They only count the ones where you go all the way down to the water bottle.  I was never tested in, but a few weeks ago we did get tested in the middle of a session. I think that day I did 8 push-ups  in 2 minutes.  Today I did 16 (2 of them didn’t count because I didn’t make it all the way down to the water bottle).  But 16, I was impressed because I could barely do 2 full ones awhile back… or I would just do all of them on my knees.

After I tested my push-ups I went back to the line to get measured.  They pulled me in there and told me to face the wall with my back to the gal that was measuring me.  I guess they do this so you can’t see your results until they are done with measurements.  Okay, here we go in inches lost:

  • ·         Upper chest: 2.25 in
  • ·         Waist: 7.25 in (I’m a little shocked at this number, maybe it’s wrong… )
  • ·         Hips: 2 in
  • ·         Buttocks: 2 in
  • ·         Right Thigh: 2.25 in
  • ·         Right Calf: 0.5 in
  • ·         Right Bicep: 0.25 in

Yeah… I’m pretty shocked.  After measurements, I got weighed and measured for body fat.

  • ·         7lbs lost
  • ·         2% body fat lost

Okay, I was weighed in and measured 4 weeks ago.  I can’t even imagine what the measurements were when I started or MONTHS ago when I originally started with a trainer at 24 Hour Fitness.

They took my photo.  And then I still had to do the sip-up test.  But I think I was just so happy looking at the numbers written in my book.

Sit-up test time… well again, I was never tested in, but that day we tested a few weeks ago, I think I did 38. Today I did 45.  That last one was really hard.  It was a 2 minute sit-up test.  They kind where someone holds down your feet and you come all the way up.  I actually did more than the dude that held my feet down.  I think he did 38 or so.

So after our test out, we had a few minutes to stretch and grad water before the mile run.  As you know this was the thing I was all nervous about.  Since I don’t know what my mile time is anyway, I really just wanted to run it without stopping.  I actually made myself a mini play list for my iPod Shuffle last night.

Okay… I ran the entire route.  One mile… 9 minutes, 59 seconds… no stopping.  I definitely was struggling around the halfway point, but I really wanted to do it!  I heard all your supportive words and I was able to make it.  Once I hit the Wienerschnitzel (which my buddy Walter told me was the home stretch), I knew I couldn’t stop.  And then there was all the booters that finished before me… they were all cheering me and the others on. It was really motivating.  So 9:59… Just under 10 minutes, I’m proud.

And… I’m not done.

After the run, we all walked over to a little restaurant across the street, Quinn’s, where we had graduation breckie.  The food was healthy.  We had egg whites (which tasted decent with the pico de gallo), turkey bacon (um, I want REAL bacon!), whole wheat pancakes (uh… aka glorified cardboard), and fruit.  Yeah, unfortunately, the food wasn’t that great, but it was fun to sit, eat, and socialize with my fellow booters.

Apparently, they give out awards at this breckie, like we were in elementary school or something.  the instructors would say what award they were giving, like most improved, cleanest food journal, hardest working, etc… and then would describe the person and why they deserved the award… and then say the name and present them with a certificate.  Well, the gal to my right ended up getting Best Attitude and the gal to my left got the G.I. Jane award for overall awesome-ness in booter.

I was just sitting hanging out while Matt was describing the Hardest Worker award.  And then… he called my name.  Um… I was definitely surprised. I was thinking, Is there another Ann in the 5:50am class?  He said some nice things, like how I should be in platoon 1 if I come back to booter.  That’s really cool, a promotion in the ranks 🙂  Anyway, I got an award.  I think I will proudly display it at my cube.

I know this email is quite long, but it was quite the busy morning. After all the awards were handed out we all got t-shirts, key chains, license plate holders, etc…

I signed up again.  I almost signed up to do the 5 times a week maintenance, but I think 3 days a week will be fine.

I met some really awesome people at booter, and I’m really happy I decided to sign up.  It has been one of the best decisions I have made in recent times.  I am ready for Maui and I can’t wait to keep up the healthy eating habits I picked up.

Alright, I think that’s enough for this LAST email!  It’s a long one.

And I have to say this again, THANK YOU all for all the supportive email, texts, and conversations in the last 5 weeks.  Your support has really motivated me to finish strong.  I really appreciate it all.  Thank you for reading my emails every day.  It has been an amazing experience.

Have a great weekend/week!

Cheers!

~Ann

PS… Let’s Celebrate!!!

2 thoughts on “Booter… once again!

Leave a Reply

